抬头显示器

安全

抬头显示器减少驾驶员分心,增加安全。

为读取仪器组信息,您至少需要将注意力从道路上移开一会儿。在信息流开始之前,您需要凑近观看(这称之为调节)。而后,当您将目光投回交通环境中时,又要重新适应较远的视距,这也重复了上述过程。
如果此类过程经常发生,不仅耗时,而且还会造成眼睛疲劳。在使用传统仪器组的情况下,读取显示器信息,包括两次调节视距,至少需要半秒钟。这意味着,当驾驶员以 120 千米/小时的速度移开视线时,将盲驾约 33 米。
抬头显示器 (HUD) 将在您需要的情况下在水平视线范围内直接而准确地呈现信息。驾驶员无需低头看组合仪表或辅助显示器即可获取诸如速度、警告信号及导航指示箭头等所有重要信息。在使用挡风玻璃型抬头显示器的情况下,驾驶员可在挡风玻璃上看到一个虚拟图像,但图像并非平面和静态,而是“浮动”在引擎盖上方约两米处。

在使用增强现实抬头显示器的情况下,挡风玻璃 HUD 上显示的信息中将扩增到车前方的街道上,使信息更加真实。

对于大陆集团而言,HUD 代表着人机界面整体方案的一项关键技术,从而使驾驶员与其爱车之间能够进行无声的交流。

HUD_Technology_Safety

舒适

操控自如,获知一切

我们的抬头显示器还令驾驶更加舒适。您会感觉受到更完善的保护,因为所有信息都直接呈现在水平视线范围内,能够更快速地识别和发现紧急情况。
由于您可获得关于驾驶情况和汽车状态的更完整反馈,所以您绝无可能错过重要信息。例如,HUD 上可显示限速信息,因此,结合限速信息,如果您的驾驶速度超过限速,将收到警告。由自适应巡航控制系统发出的信息将确保您在驾驶时与前车保持正确的车距,如果您未按此车距行驶,将向您发出预警。如果您即将偏离车道,我们的车道偏离警告系统将向您发出即时反馈。我们的导航系统可提供关于前方路况更完美的视觉反馈,尤其在与我们的增强现实抬头显示器结合应用时,可使导航信息与车前方的环境实现无缝整合,实用性极大提升。

驾驶员可根据自身需求和偏好轻松调节大陆集团抬头显示器。这样即可根据您的个人偏好自定义挡风玻璃上虚拟图像的位置。您还可以调节对比度和亮度。最后但同样重要的一点是,您可通过关闭诸如限速或导航等单项信息对 HUD 上显示的信息进行配置。

技术

技术的角度看,HUD 堪称绝妙。从光学的角度来看,挡风玻璃是自由曲面,而为了形成不失真的图像,就要求 HUD 中的凹透镜发出非常精确的图像。因此,在制造大镜片的过程中对容差的要求更加严格:大陆集团 采用塑料注塑成形方法生产此类大型非球面镜,整个表面的容差在 5 微米 (0.005 mm) 以下。由于环境亮度的变化范围大,HUD 需具有极高的亮度和精确的亮度控制(取决于虚拟影像的背景亮度),以形成可轻松读取的图像。
显示器将以电子方式纠正任何通过挡风玻璃产生的光学扭曲。我们大量研发工作的主要重点是优化图像生成单元 (PGU),包括散热器、 印刷电路板、发光二极管 (LED) 矩阵及 TFT 彩色显示器和导光管。在后续解决方案中,现有 HUD 取得了最新开发成果,该款显示器为 3.1˝,分辨率达到 800 x 480 像素。在优化期间,现有 1.8˝ PGU 不仅在性能方面有所改进,现在,在效率方面更胜从前。与第一代产品相比,第二代 TFT 显示器中采用的 LED 矩阵已达到 1,300 坎德拉/瓦 (cd/W)。自 2013 年起,下一开发阶段的效率便定为以 1,700 cd/W 为基础,而在未来几年内,3,000 cd/W 的亮度将是一个可实现目标。这便解释了为何当代标准系列的 HUD 显示器在具有如此高亮度显示的情况下仅需 8 瓦电源。该系列中可视显示器的光度已超过 10,000 cd/m2,而这要归功于 LED 技术日益提升的效率。

高精度挡风玻璃型抬头显示器的生产厂址位于德国的巴本豪森 (Babenhausen)。

可扩展性

大陆集团拥有广泛的抬头显示器产品组合。我们开发了挡风玻璃型抬头显示器、集成型抬头显示器以及增强现实抬头显示器。我们的一项主要战略重心是,致力于提供适用于所有车型的抬头显示器,从豪华车型到小型车辆无所不包。因此,我们是首批生产中档车型 HUD 的厂家之一,例如适用于 BMW 3 系的 HUD。
另外,针对外形较小、价格较为低廉的车型生产 HUD 的关键是优化成本,同时更为重要的是缩小安装空间。因此,第二代 大陆集团HUD 所需的安装空间仅略超过第一代 HUD 的一半。在致力于让每一辆车适配 HUD 的道路上,我们推出了最新的集成型 HUD,因此,无论车辆大小或价值如何,安全性均大幅改进。集成型 HUD 进一步缩小了安装空间,与挡风玻璃 HUD 相比,也更为轻薄,而在驾驶舱内空间极为有限的情况下,这一点对于所有车型而言都至关重要。同时,由于其只需小号塑料或玻璃屏幕即可满足充分反光的光学要求,而使其极具成本效益,这一点与挡风玻璃截然相反。

参考

2010 年,大陆集团 开始了第二代抬头显示器系列的生产。大陆集团推出的第二代 HUD 已成为 Audi A6/A7 和 A8 系列和 BMW 3 系列人机界面的重要组成部分。

HUD Experience

发展历程 

大陆集团自 2003 年开始生产全彩抬头显示器。但在驾驶员信息系统的研发方面,大陆集团不仅可利用自身在发展历程中所积累的丰富经验,而且还可从诸如 VDO(已成为大陆集团旗下的公司)等公司汲取宝贵经验。
如今,多年累积的丰富经验正帮助公司实现与客户的紧密合作,并使抬头显示器对于驾驶员更具吸引力。

增强现实抬头显示器

AR-HUD 的特色

在不久的将来,增强现实抬头显示器将帮助驾驶过程变得更为舒适和安全。最新一代 HUD 将为驾驶员呈现的虚拟信息(增强图像)增加到车辆前方交通状况的外部视图之中。增强现实抬头显示器所反馈的信息呈现为驾驶情况信息的一部分,这一点不同于一般的挡风玻璃型 HUD。例如,在进行导航时,虚拟符号精确插入至外部视图中,标记出驾驶员应向前行驶的路线。在车距控制功能(自适应巡航控制系统,ACC)启用时,可看到 AR-HUD 中标记着这一辅助系统所检测到的前方车辆。
因 AR-HUD 能够让驾驶员直接看到显示的解释性信息,因此在我们变得日趋复杂的世界中,这极大缓解了驾驶员的压力。
同时,这也造就了全新的信息品质,能够让驾驶员更为快速地记录当前所处的驾驶情况,而这对于提升安全和舒适性来说至关重要。
因此,在实现更为舒适、更为经济及更为安全的驾驶体验这一车辆整体互动理念的发展道路上,AR-HUD 是一个非常重要的阶段。它将以一种易于理解的方式在驾驶员眼前呈现所有重要信息。将来,驾驶员分心和感官超负荷将是我们关注的下一个阶段。

AR-HUD 技术

AR-HUD 将虚拟信息直接移入驾驶员的水平视线范围内。在距离为 7.5 米、约 130 厘米宽、逾 60 厘米高的驾驶员视野面中,它将全彩图形插入真实的路面视图内。我们是以数字微镜器件 (DMD) 技术为基础做到这一点,该技术同时还应用于数字电影放映领域。预计最快在 2016 年,大陆集团会将此投影技术全面用于各系列产品的生产。我们将针对驾驶员辅助系统推出三项可能实现的应用,以大陆集团的演示用车为例:当车辆在无意中驶离车道而陷入险境时,AR-HUD 将为驾驶员提供支持。AR-HUD 还支持使用 ACC(自适应巡航控制系统)。当 ACC 启用时,AR-HUD 中将以月牙形标记突出显示此电子系统所检测到的前方车辆。AR-HUD 还可在真实的外部视图中反映导航信息。这便使驾驶员了解应驶入的路线,而无需在导航屏幕和真实环境中来回观察。

这也开启了驾驶员与车辆之间全新的互动模式。车辆能够向驾驶员显示辅助系统能看到的及当前的处理信息。这样便形成了信任,因此也促进了人们对当前和未来驾驶功能的接受,例如自动驾驶。

开发 AR-HUD 需要应用大量不同汽车领域的专业知识。为使 AR-Creator(完美适用于目前的驾驶环境)生成增强图像,您需在 HUD 技术、驾驶员辅助系统及信息处理方面具有丰富的经验。控制系统基于来自车辆传感器的摄像和雷达数据,并将来自车辆的车辆动态数据纳入考量,以及在数字地图数据和 GPS 定位的帮助下,能够从驾驶员的角度计算出真实外部视图的模型,因此可以在正确的视觉点生成增强图像。

HUD technology experience
集成型 HUD

集成型 HUD 的特色

随着集成型 HUD 的推出,大陆集团 进一步扩大了其抬头显示器 (HUD) 可扩展解决方案的产品范围。这款堪称典范的紧凑型 HUD 采用与挡风玻璃 HUD 极为相似的原理,但所需的安装空间更小。这款 HUD 以小巧透明的塑料片(亦被称为“集成屏幕”)取代挡风玻璃作为信息显示的反射面。目前,HUD 技术的人体工程学优势在汽车领域得到了最为广泛的应用。集成型 HUD 可轻松与全部车型系列整合,尤其是驾驶舱空间极为有限的跑车车型。与挡风玻璃型 HUD 相比,集成型 HUD 所需的安装空间仅为其一半略多一点,并取决于具体应用。在这种情况下,挡风玻璃无需与光路整合,取而代之的是,此光路投射在集成屏幕上,由于集成屏幕的光学特性,这是一种优化。在适宜的条件下,集成型 HUD 内部甚至仅有一个反射面。这样不仅构造紧凑,而且极为轻薄,从而使其更为轻松地与车型较小或特殊的跑车车型相整合。集成型抬头显示器几乎具有同样的人体工程学优势:驾驶员在读取选定信息的同时,还可持续关注交通状况。他们不得不在路况与显示器之间来回观察的情况不复存在。

Combiner HUD

技术

与挡风玻璃 HUD 相比,集成型  抬头显示器的目视距离略近一些,约在 1.5 米到 2 米之间,这意味着驾驶员所需调整的目视距离也比使用挡风玻璃型 HUD 更近。

Continental 全新集成型抬头显示器

Continental 将抬头显示器的最小安装空间进一步减小为 0.85 l。 这使得抬头显示器可以集成到组合仪表中。抬头显示器和组合仪表共享一块 3.5” TFT 显示屏,并且图像信息完全同步。

这款集成型抬头显示器
志着集团向着为所有车型提供抬头显示器的目
又迈进了一步。同时也证明 Continental 在系统集成方面的强大优势,我们的解决方案不但使用简便、价廉质优,而且能提供驾驶员所需的全部功能。

联系人

您的姓名(必填)

您的邮件(必填)

主题

您的邮件内容

新闻事件
事件

集成型抬头显示器参展东京车展

Continental 在 2015 东京车展上推出全新的集成型抬头显示器。
集团十分看好这款产品在亚洲市场(尤其是中国和日本)的销售潜力。

2015 届上海国际汽车工业展览会

2015 年 4 月 22 – 29 日
媒体日: 2015 年 4 月 20 + 21 日

在 2015 届上海国际汽车工业展览会上,大陆集团将展示其最新研发的集成型抬头显示器技术以及采用数字微镜器件 (DMD) 技术的新一代挡风玻璃型抬头显示器。

敬请光临:
5 号馆 2 层展厅,
展位号: 5B / H311
届上海国际汽车工业展览会网址: www.autoshanghai.org

关于 HUD 的新闻稿
Continental AR-HUD Technology for a Dialog Without Word

AR-HUD – 无声对话技术

巴本豪森,德国,2014 年 7 月。 为了实现人车新对话形式,国际汽车零部件供应商大陆集团开发出增强现实抬头显示器(AR-HUD)。该增强现实抬头显示器通过内部特殊设计的光学系统将图像信息精确地结合于实际交通路况中,从而扩展了或者说增强了驾驶者对于实际驾驶环境的感知……

阅读和下载新闻稿

Head-up Displays Find Their Way into Drivers' Field of Vision

抬头显示器进入到驾驶员的视野内

巴本豪森,德国,2014 年 7 月。自投放市场以来,抬头显示器 (HUD) 已从专用于豪华车型的新鲜事物,发展为面向大众市场的一项技术。这不仅要归功于其显而易见的有效性和改良技术……

阅读和下载新闻稿(英文版)

Continental First Look at Augmented Reality Head-Up Display for Improved Driver Information

初识提供完善驾驶信息的增强现实抬头显示器

巴本豪森,德国,2014 年 7 月。国际汽车零部件供应商 大陆集团推出新生代抬头显示器 (HUD) 。增强现实 HUD 将虚拟信息增加到车辆前方交通状况的外景中……

阅读和下载新闻稿

Continental Presents Combiner Head-up Display

大陆集团推出集成型抬头显示器

巴本豪森,德国,2014 年 7 月。 全球汽车零部件供应商大陆集团不断扩大其汽车中人机交互界面(HMI)可扩展抬头显示器(HUD)解决方案的范围,并通过 现在发布的 集成型 HUD,进一步扩大了 HUD 原理在狭窄空间里的应用……

阅读和下载新闻稿

Continental Further Than the Eye Can See

不止目所能及

巴本豪森,德国,2014 年 7 月 。国际汽车零部件供应商大陆集团最近在其演示车上展示了一款称为增强现实抬头显示器(AR-HUD)的产品,这将给汽车驾驶舱带来一场大革命……

阅读和下载新闻稿

HUD 媒体报道

全新的平视显示器会改变驾驶员和整个行业的视角

采用“增强现实”技术的抬头显示器以挡风玻璃的大部分区域显示数据和图像,而这正显著改变着驾驶员看到路面的方式。Continental AG 表示,其已与一家未提及名字的客户签订了生产合同,其中约定将于 2017 年为该客户提供全新的 HUD 技术。访问下列网址阅读完整文章:autonews.com(仅英文版本)

Continental:增强现实平视显示器所蕴含的技术

国际汽车零部件供应商大陆集团正在开发一款增强现实抬头显示器 (AR-HUD),以促进驾驶员与车辆之间的全新对话形式。访问下列网址阅读完整文章 automotiveworld.com

关注抬头显示器汽车技术

随着汽车的技术含量越来越高,从诸如需要准确输入的本地搜索等关联服务,到能够发出一连串警告的驾驶员辅助系统,驾驶员将不得不处理更多的视觉和听觉刺激。访问下列网址阅读完整文章 PCMag

大陆集团展示其将于 2017 年推出的增强现实抬头显示器

国际汽车零部件供应商 大陆集团正在开发一款增强现实抬头显示器 (AR-HUD),以促进驾驶员与车辆之间的全新对话形式。访问下列网址阅读完整文章 autoevolution.com

Head-up Displays

Safety

The head-up display reduces driver distraction and increases driver safety.

To read an instrument cluster, for at least a brief moment you have to take your eyes off the road. Your eyes need to adjust to the shorter distance (known as accommodation) before the information flow can begin. This process reoccurs when your eyes readjust to the greater visual distance to take in the traffic environment. This process takes time and tires the eyes if it happens frequently. Reading a display, including accommodation of the eye occurring twice, requires at least half a second with a conventional instrument cluster. This means that when drivers avert their gaze at a speed of 120 km/h they will be driving blind for about 33 meters.

A head-up display (HUD) shows information exactly where you need it – directly in the line of sight. Drivers get all the important information such as speed, warning signals and indicator arrows for navigation without looking down to the instrument cluster or the secondary display. In the case of a windscreen head-up display drivers see a virtual image, but not as a flat, static picture on the windshield, but rather, as “floating” over the hood at a distance of about two meters.

In the case of an augmented-reality head-up display the information of the windshield-HUD is enriched with a layer of information right on the street in front of the car. For Continental the HUD represents a key technology for its holistic approach for the human-machine-interface which will lead to a dialogue without word between the driver and his vehicle.

HUD Technology Safety

Comfort

Always in control, always informed

Our head-up displays also make driving more comfortable. You will feel better protected, because you have all the information directly in their line of sight and therefore can recognize and catch critical situations even faster.
With improved feedback regarding the driving situation and the status of your car, it will become harder to miss important information. Speed limits for example, can be displayed in the HUD and  you will be warned if you drive above the speed limit. Information from the adaptive cruise control assures you that you are driving the correct distance from the car in front of you and gives you an early warning if you are not. Our lane departure warning system gives immediate feedback if you are going to leave the lane. The usability of navigation systems also improves with a better visual feedback regarding the road ahead, especially with our augmented reality head-up display, where navigation information is seamlessly integrated in to the environment in front of your car.

Continental head-up displays can be easily adjusted to the needs and preferences of drivers. This allows to customize the positioning of the virtual image on the windshield, according to the own preferences. It is also possible to adjust the contrast and the brightness. Last but not least, you can configure what information is displayed on the HUD by turning off single information like speed limit or navigation.

Technology

From a technical point of view, the HUD is a master stroke. In order to create a distortion-free image, the windshield, a curved free-form surface from an optical point of view, requires very exact images from the concave mirror in the HUD. As a result, the tolerances in the manufacturing of the large mirror are correspondingly narrow: Continental produces this large asphere in plastic injection molding with a tolerance of under 5 micrometers (0.005 mm) across the entire surface. Due to the large dynamic range of ambient brightness, extreme luminance and excellent brightness control are required for the HUD (depending on the brightness of the background of the virtual display) in order to produce an image that can be easily read.
Any optical distortions through the shield are electronically corrected on the display. A lot of research and development has primarily gone into optimizing the picture generating unit (PGU), consisting of a heat sink, printed circuit board, LED matrix, and TFT color display and light guide. The latest development in a follow-up solution for an existing HUD is a display that has already reached 3.1˝ and 800 x 480 pixel resolution. During optimization, the existing 1.8˝ PGU has not only seen its performance improve – it is now more efficient as well. Compared to the first generation, the LED matrix in the TFT display in the second generation has already reached 1,300 candela per watt (cd/W). Since 2013, the next stage of development has been based on an efficiency of 1,700 cd/W, and in a few years a brightness of 3,000 cd/W will be a realistic target. This explains why only 8 watts of electrical power are needed for a contemporary standard series HUD, despite the intense brightness of the display. Thanks to increasing efficiency in LED technology, the luminance of the visible display in the series has already reached more than 10,000 cd/m2.

High precision production of windshield head-up displays in Babenhausen, Germany.

Scalability

Continental has a broad portfolio of head-up displays. We develop windshield head-up displays, combiner head-up displays and augmented reality head-up displays. One main focus of our strategy is an aim to provide head-up displays for all vehicles classes, from luxury cars to small vehicles. Consequently we were one of the first manufacturers to deliver mid range vehicle HUDs, for example for the BMW 3 Series.
The key to producing HUDs for smaller, less expensive vehicle classes as well, was to optimize costs, and also, more importantly, to reduce installation space. As a result, the second generation of Continental HUDs require just over half the space needed for the first generation of HUDs. Our combiner-HUD is the latest step on the path towards having a HUD in every car and therefore improved safety, regardless of the size or value of the car. The combiner-HUD further reduces installation space and is flatter than a windshield-HUD, something that is crucial for all vehicles types, where space in the cockpit is very limited. It is also very cost-effective as it only requires a small plastic or glass screen in order to fulfill the optical requirements for adequately reflecting the light as opposed to the windscreen itself.

References

In 2010 Continental began series production of the second-generation of head-up displays. This second-generation HUD from Continental has become an important part of the Human-Machine-Interface of the Audi A6/A7 and A8 Series, BMW 3 Series and Mercedes-Benz C-Class.

HUD Experience

Experience

We began producing color head-up displays in 2003 and Continental can draw on a wealth of more than a hundred years of experience when it comes to driver information systems. Aside from its own automotive history, Continental has also inherited the experience of automotive suppliers like VDO which have become a part of Continental. The history of Continental’s automotive business began in 1908, when the Parisian firm E . Seignol established a subsidiary in Frankfurt, called O.S. Autometerwerke E. Seignol, which was later known as OTA Apparate GmbH. The fusion of OTA with the speedometer division of Deuta Werke in Berlin lead to the foundation of VDO Tachometer AG – Vereinigte Deuta OTA in Frankfurt (1928), later becoming VDO Tachometer AG and after that, VDO Adolf Schindling GmbH (1951). Between 1991 and 1994, VDO, now VDO Adolf Schindling AG, was gradually integrated into Mannesmann AG (Mannesmann VDO AG). After merging with Siemens Automotive in 2001, VDO (Siemens VDO AG) was acquired by Continental in 2007.

These years of experience and know-how that have come as a result of our history continue to help us both in working together with customers, as well as in making head-up displays even more attractive to drivers.

Augmented Reality Head-up Display

AR-HUD Features

In the near future augmented reality head-up displays will help to make driving even more comfortable and safe. This generation of HUDs supplements the exterior view of the traffic conditions in front of the vehicle with virtual information (augmentations) for the driver. The augmented reality head-up display differs from a normal windshield-HUD since the reflected information appears to be part of the driving situation itself. When navigating, for example, a virtual symbol inserted precisely into the exterior view marks the route that the driver should follow on the road ahead. When distance controls (adaptive cruise control, ACC) are enabled, a marking in the AR-HUD visualizes which vehicle in front is detected by the assistance system.
In a world that is becoming increasingly complex, the AR-HUD relieves the burden on the driver because what the driver’s eyes see is directly connected with explanatory information.
This leads to a new quality of information that allows the driver to register the driving situation they are in even faster – essential for more safety and comfort.
Therefore the AR-HUD is an important step in the direction of holistic interaction concepts in vehicles for a more comfortable, more economic, and safer driving experience. Drivers receive all the important information before their eyes in an easily comprehensible way. This is an important next step against driver distraction and sensory overload in the future.

AR-HUD Technology

The AR-HUD moves virtual information directly into the driver’s line of sight. It inserts full-color graphics into the real road view in an approximately 130 cm-wide and over 60 cm-high section of the driver’s field of vision at a distance of 7.5 meters. The basis for this is provided by digital micro-mirror device (DMD) technology, which is also used in digital cinema projectors. Continental will bring this projection technology into series production as early as in 2016. Three possible applications are realized in connection with driver assistance systems in the Continental demo vehicle as an example: The AR-HUD supports the driver if the vehicle is in danger of unintentionally drifting out of a lane. The AR-HUD also supports the use of ACC (adaptive cruise control). When ACC is enabled, a crescent-shaped marking in the AR-HUD highlights the vehicle in front that is detected by the electronics. The AR-HUD also reflects navigation information in the real exterior view. This leads to the driver knowing which turning they have to take, without having to look back and forth between the navigation screen and the real world.

This starts a new interaction between the vehicle and the driver. The vehicle shows the driver what the assistance systems can see and what they are doing. This creates trust and will therefore also help to create acceptance for current and future driving functions, as for example automated driving.

The development of an AR-HUD requires a lot of know-how in different automotive fields. You need experience with HUD technology, driver assistance systems and data handling in order to generate an augmentation in the AR-Creator which perfectly fits to the current driving situation. Based on camera and radar data from the vehicle sensors, taking into account the vehicle dynamics data from the vehicle, and helped by digital map data and GPS positioning, the control unit calculates a model of the real exterior view from the driver’s perspective and can thus generate the augmentations at the correct visual point.

HUD technology experience
Combiner-HUD

Combiner-HUD Features

With the combiner-HUD Continental extends its range of scalable solutions for head-up displays (HUD). This compact example of the HUD principle is closely related to the windshield-HUD, but requires less installation space. A small, transparent plastic disc called the “combiner” is used as a mirror for the information shown, instead of the windshield itself. Now the ergonomic advantages of HUD technology can have the broadest possible use in the vehicle. The combiner-HUD can be easily integrated in whole vehicle families as well as in particularly sporty cars with limited space in the cockpit. Compared with the windshield-HUD the combiner-HUD requires only slightly more than half the installation space, depending on the application. This is possible because the windshield does not need to be integrated in the optical path here. Instead this path is positioned in the combiner, which is optimized for its optical properties. Under favorable conditions, a combiner-HUD even comes with just one single mirror in the interior. This makes the construction not only compact but also extremely flat, which also makes it easier to integrate in smaller or particularly sporty vehicles. The combiner provides almost the same ergonomic advantages: while reading selected information, drivers can constantly keep their eyes on the traffic. They no longer have to keep looking back and forth between the road and their display instrument.

Combiner-HUD

Technology

Compared with the windshield-HUD, the distance to the visual display of the Combiner-HUD is marginally shorter, between 1.5 m and 2m, which means that the driver’s eyes have to adjust slightly more to the shorter distance compared with the windshield-HUD.

New Integrated Combiner Head-up Display

Continental has reduced the minimum volume space for head-up displays even further to only 0.85 l. This was possible by integrating a Combiner Head-up Display into the Instrument Cluster. HUD and Instrument Cluster now share a single 3.5” TFT with synchronized images.

The integrated Combiner HUD is the next step towards offering head-up displays for all vehicle classes. It is also a proof of Continentals competence in system integration, to develop cost sensitive solutions with less system complexity but all functions that drivers demand.

Contact

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message

News & Events
Events

Integrated Combiner at Tokyo Motor Show

Continental has presented its new integrated Combiner HUD to the public at Tokyo Motorshow 2015.
Continental sees high sales potential for this product in the Asian markets, in particular Japan and China.

Robert Drury presents on the topic of Augmented Reality during the 2015 SAE International World Congress.

2015 SAE International World Congress

Continental was the Tier One Strategic Sponsor alongside Honda for the 2015 SAE International World Congress in Detroit, MI, held April 21-23, 2015. Throughout the week, Continental had a number of industry experts present on a variety of Automotive and Tire topics. One of these thought leaders was Mr. Robert (Bob) Drury, Director of Engineering, Instrumentation & Driver HMI, Continental North America. Mr. Drury presented in a Tech Hub session, which featured short, informational presentations in a TED-like talk format. His topic of discussion was Augmented Reality with a focus on Continental’s Augmented Reality Head-up Display (AR-HuD). Mr. Drury explained how the ability of the car can go far beyond the human scope with the use of such technology.

To supplement the presentation by Mr. Drury, Continental also had a Combiner HuD on display near the Tech Hub area.

SAE World Congress website: http://www.sae.org/congress/

Auto Shanghai 2015

April 22 – 29, 2015
Media Day: April 20 + 21, 2015

At Auto Shanghai 2015 Continental will present its latest Combiner Head-up Display technology and the recent Windshield Head-up Display generation with digital micro-mirror device (DMD) technology.

Visit us in:
Hall 5.2
Booth No.: 5B / H311
Auto Shanghai website: www.autoshanghai.org/en/

Augmented Reality Head-up Display Media Event

Auburn Hills, USA, October 29, 2014

On October 29th, 2014, Continental showcased its latest AR-HUD  technology  on public roads in North America for the first time. The program allowed journalists to test drive a vehicle equipped with one of Continental’s current Head-up Displays already in production, as well as the Augmented Reality HUD demonstration vehicle. During the event, executives and technical experts from Continental presented an overview of Continental’s comprehensive product portfolio for Driver HMI technologies. They also gave an outlook on the strategy towards a Holistic Human Machine Interface (Holistic HMI) and Continental’s technical capabilities in the field of Human Machine Interface, e.g. the new AR-creator for Augmented Reality Head-up Displays.

Press Releases HUD
Continental AR-HUD Technology for a Dialog Without Word

AR-HUD – Technology for a Dialog Without Words

Babenhausen, Germany, July 2014. The international automotive supplier Continental is developing an Augmented Reality Head-up Display (AR-HUD) in order to facilitate a new form of dialog between the vehicle and the driver. The reality of the traffic conditions as seen by the driver is extended…

Read and download the press release

Head-up Displays Find Their Way into Drivers' Field of Vision

Head-up Displays Find Their Way into Drivers’ Field of Vision

Babenhausen, Germany, July 2014. Since it was launched on the market, the head-up display (HUD) has gone from being an innovation for luxury-class vehicles to a technology for the mass market. It is not least thanks to its visible usefulness and improved technology…

Read and download the press release

Continental First Look at Augmented Reality Head-Up Display for Improved Driver Information

First Look at Augmented Reality Head-Up Display for Improved Driver Information

Babenhausen, Germany, July 2014. The international automotive supplier Continental is presenting a new evolutionary stage of its head-up display (HUD). The Augmented Reality HUD supplements the exterior view of the traffic conditions in front of the vehicle with virtual…

Read and download the press release

Continental Presents Combiner Head-up Display

Continental Presents Combiner Head-up Display

Babenhausen/Germany, July 22, 2014. International automotive supplier Continental is systematically continuing to extend its range of scalable solutions for head-up displays (HUD) for the human machine interface (HMI) in cars. The company has developed a particularly compact…

Read and download the press release

Continental Further Than the Eye Can See

Further Than the Eye Can See

Babenhausen/Germany, July, 22, 2014. The “Augmented Reality Head-up Display” (AR-HUD) was recently presented by the international automotive supplier Continental in its demo vehicle. This new development has the ability to revolutionize…

Read and download the press release

HUD Media Coverage

New head-up displays could change views for drivers and the industry

Head-up displays with “augmented reality,” the technology that employs much of the windshield as a display area for data and images, is poised to significantly change how drivers see the road. Continental AG says it has lined up a production contract to supply its new HUD technology for an unnamed customer in 2017. Read the full article at autonews.com

Continental: The Technology behind the Augmented Reality Head-up Display

The international automotive supplier Continental is developing an Augmented Reality Head-up Display (AR-HUD) in order to facilitate a new form of dialog between the vehicle and the driver. Read the full article at automotiveworld.com

Eyes On With Heads-Up Display Car Tech

As more technology comes into the car—from connected services like local search that require accurate input to driver-assist systems that issue a barrage of warnings—drivers will have to process more visual and audible stimuli. Read the full article at PCMag

Continental Shows Its Augmented Reality Head-up Display for 2017

The international automotive supplier Continental is developing an Augmented Reality Head-up Display (AR-HUD) in order to facilitate a new form of dialog between the vehicle and the driver. Read the full article at autoevolution.com